Student of the Year

Student of the Year

Each year during the annual meeting of the Transportation Research Board, the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) honors the best and brightest students from University Transportation Centers (UTC) in the nation for contribution to the transportation field. The students are selected for outstanding accomplishments in research, academics, professionalism, leadership and technical merit. The UTC program is administered by the Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) at USDOT.

2021 Student of the Year – Mitchell Fisher, Ph.D. student, Auburn University

2020 Student of the Year – Patrick Emami, Ph.D. student, University of Florida

2019 Student of the Year – Rebecca Kiriazes, Ph.D. student, Georgia Technological University

2018 Student of the Year – M. Shoaib Samandar, Ph.D. student, North Carolina State University

2017 Student of the Year – Les Brown, MURP, Sr. Managing Consultant, Transportation at ICF

2016 Student of the Year – Don Watson, Ph.D., Traffic Specialist, FDOT District 5 (University of Florida)

2015 Student of the Year – Clark Letter, Ph.D, ITE Engineer, HNTB Corporation (University of Florida)

2014 Student of the Year – Dr. Louis Merlin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Florida Atlantic University

2013 Student of the Year – Erica Schmidt, master’s student, University of Alabama at Birmingham

2012 Student of the Year – Amy Dunham, MURP, AICP, Senior Transportation Planner, WSP USA (University of Florida)